Tuesday, June 19, 2007

Elite "Club" Opens Its Doors

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 115 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. Those who accept the invitation will be the only additions in 2007 to the Academy’s roster of voting members.

“These individuals are all exceptionally accomplished in their respective fields,” said Academy President Sid Ganis. “We’re looking forward to having them join the Academy’s ranks.”

The membership policies that the Academy adopted four years ago in order to slow the growth of the organization would have allowed a maximum of nearly 150 new members in 2007, but as in the previous three years, the various branch committees endorsed far fewer candidates than were proposed to them. Voting membership in the organization has now held steady at just under 6,000 members for four years.

“The numbers are stabilizing nicely,” said Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis, “but at the same time some interesting changes are occurring. Like the recent lists of Oscar® nominees, our last few membership invitation lists have been increasingly international.”

New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills in September.

Some of the 2007 invitees include: Jennifer Aniston, Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Eddie Murphy, Christopher Plummer (how has he NOT been in till now!?), Jennifer Hudson, and J.J. Abrams.

Click HERE for the full list.

No comments:

Post a Comment

TheTwoCents Comments Policy