Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Tony Performances Announced

Eight musical performances, including all four Best Musical nominees and three of the nominated shows for Best Musical Revival, have been announced for THE AMERICAN THEATRE WING’S 61ST ANNUAL TONY AWARDS, to be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall, Sunday, June 10 (8:00-11:00 PM, live ET/delayed PT) on the CBS Television Network. The awards honor theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.

THE 61ST ANNUAL TONY AWARDS will feature performances from each of the Best Musical Nominees — "Curtains," "Grey Gardens," "Mary Poppins" and "Spring Awakening," as well as performances by Best Musical Revival nominees "A Chorus Line," "Company" and "110 in the Shade." Additionally, the show will feature a special performance by Fantasia of “The Color Purple.”

Jeff Daniels, Brian Dennehy, Judd Hirsch, Melina Kanakaredes, Robert Sean Leonard, John Mahoney, Cynthia Nixon, Christopher Plummer and Sam Waterston have been added as presenters. Previously announced presenters for the 2007 Tony Awards are Harry Connick, Jr., Claire Danes, Carla Gugino, Neil Patrick Harris, Anne Heche, Marg Helgenberger, Felicity Huffman, Eddie Izzard, Jane Krakowski, Angela Lansbury, Audra McDonald, Bernadette Peters, David Hyde Pierce, Liev Schreiber, Kevin Spacey, John Turturro, Usher, Vanessa Williams, Rainn Wilson and The Jersey Boys - Christian Hoff, Daniel Reichard, J. Robert Spencer and John Lloyd Young.

Nominees in the 25 competitive categories were announced on Tuesday, May 15. The TONY AWARDS, presented by the American Theatre Wing and the League of American Theatres and Producers, have been broadcast on CBS since 1978. This year marks the 10th anniversary that the Tonys are being held at the historic Radio City Music Hall .

The Tonys were founded in memorial to Antoinette ("Tony") Perry, the American Theatre Wing's World War II chairperson. The winners are selected by the governing board of Actors Equity, The Dramatists Guild, the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers, the United Scenic Artists, the Association of Theatrical Press Agents and Managers, the Casting Society of America, the American Theatre Wing and members of the League of American Theatres and Producers, as well as journalists.

THE AMERICAN THEATRE WING’S 61ST ANNUAL TONY AWARDS are a presentation of Tony Award Productions, which is a joint venture of the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. Emmy winners Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment will return as executive producers. Weiss will also serve as director for the eighth consecutive year. Elizabeth Ireland McCann returns as managing producer and Joey Parnes will serve as coordinating producer for Tony Award Productions.

No comments:

Post a Comment

TheTwoCents Comments Policy